Destiny

Alvados, Portugal

Alvados, Portugal

Serra da Freita

Serra da Freita

While I trek I take time to watch the people from the villages I pass by. Unfortunately Portugal’s population is not only aging, like most of the European countries, but it has been seeing it’s countryside becoming very empty of youngster. Only the old remain and there is something heartbreaking and at the same time it is soothing to watch the elders going about their daily chores. One works from sun rise to sun set, seven days a week, all year long.

There is no time to lament or stop to think that things could be different or better. They are as they are. This is a very particular Portuguese trait: Destiny is part of life and is taken as it comes. One morns singing “Fados“. Lovely!

(Lyrics)

“This fado is mine and yours
Destiny that keeps us tied
How hard we try to deny it
To the strings of a guitar

Every time we hear the moan
singing, on a guitar
One gets instantly lost
With the willing to cry

Oh people from my land
Now I understood
That this sadness I have
It was from you I got it

It would look like tenderness
If i’d let myself to rock
The bitterness would be greater [but]
Less sad my singing

Oh people from my land
Now I understood
That this sadness I have
It was from you I got it”

Leave a Reply

